Who I Am

You don’t like my hair,

You don’t like my dress.

You think I’m wrong;

That you know best.

Think you know better.

Think you got it all.

And right now,

My back’s against the wall.

You say I should be here;

But I really should be there.

Come to think of it now,

I should be nowhere.

You say how I should live:

What, when, where, how.

But I’m telling you,

Back off right now.

I was made to praise God,

To live, love, and be free.

God made me:

He made me to be me.

Twasn’t to be,

Chasing the stars.

Twasn’t to be,

Who you are.

I was made to be me,

With none other alike.

So take a hint

And take a hike.

Made to praise,

Made to live,

Made to love,

Made to give.

Made like no other,

Made by the great I AM.

Just a unique worm,

That’s who I am.

So take a deep breath and swallow . . .

This is who I am.

Story behind the poem:

This poem was written, as an expression of what I often feel. That people are always trying to mould me into what they want. If you think about it, that’s what our world is always doing. The media is screaming at us, trying to mould us. So are many people around us. The truth is, God made us unique. He made us to be us, not someone else. He made us to praise him.

Rev_4:11  Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

JT

One thought on “Who I Am

Leave a Reply

