Butterfly

Beautiful butterfly
Watch me fly, watch me fly
See my scales shimmer
Watch my colors glimmer
Floating through the air
I am the butterfly so fair
God made me to start as a worm
But eventually that worm turns
Into something so glorious and light
A butterfly with colors so bright
Something to bring cheer into your day
Watch me as I gently float away

 

Story behind the poem:

There’s not too much of a story here. :). This poem was written for the Joey newsletter. I wanted something which was short, simple, and illustrated something so special about the butterfly-it’s metamorphosis. God made the butterfly to start off as an ugly grub, but over time, this squishy fat grub, would grow and then transform to become one of the most beautiful insects that adorn planet earth.

GZ

Leave a Reply

