The Lord is My Shepherd

 

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want:

I’m a created follower, I was made a worshipper,

Of spirits, trees, people, stones, but now my idol’s left me all alone.

This desire within me’s left me hollow, I need someone to follow!

They need to know the way, or I won’t see the light of day!

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:

This world where I walk, is dry-the dust makes me choke.

My idols lead me to a land of death, here I die in the heat of the dearth.

Oh for some cool water, an oasis, to cool my soul’s cravings.

I need some food to nourish me, a fruitful place to run free.

I’m tired of running for my life, I want a place without strife.

He leadeth me beside the still waters:

This life is full of storms, I want to sail on the calm.

The waves are crashing down out here, grinding into the sand.

I gotta get this pounding out my ears: Jesus, hold my heart, calm my fears.

He restoreth my soul:

When I walk out there, I see zombies walking around me.

Indeed, I’ve been the living dead, many times I’ve sat on the ledge.

I need a restoration, a renovation, heck, I need a haulover: life revolution.

One answer: Jesus on the cross. Life change, the Lord restores the soul.

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.

 

Story behind the poem:

A bit of an exposition on Psalms 23. Photo by Peter Suneson. 😀

 

Psa 23:1 A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
Psa 23:2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
Psa 23:3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Leave a Reply

