Quote Unquote

Warning: my following comments are sarcastic and by no means express my real opinion.

“You can never guarantee a 100 per cent safe race. You expose yourself to danger when you race.”

Mokhzani Mahathir after Marco Simoncelli died in a crash.

Thank you for the newsflash! I mean, we only have like 20 bikes in close quarters going at 100+ kmph. Not 100% safe . . . are you SURE? It looks pretty safe to me.

“The bomb will never go off. I speak as an expert in explosives.”

Admiral William Leahy, US Atomic Bomb Project

Ka-boom. What’s this? A nuclear-free zone? Come on! That’ll never explode!!

“I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.”

Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

And here I am, owning one of five computers. I feel so special.

“I have traveled the length and breadth of this country and talked with the best people, and I can assure you that data processing is a fad that won’t last out the year.”

The editor in charge of business books for Prentice Hall, 1957

Please, tell that to my boss.

“There is no reason anyone would want a computer in their home.”

Ken Olson, president, chairman, founder of Digital Equipment Corp. 1977

Nope. I can’t stand my computer. Now where did I put my axe . . .

“No, it will make war impossible.”

Hiram Maxim, inventor of the machine gun, in response to the question “Will this gun not make war more terrible?” from Havelock Ellis, an English scientist, 1893.

Maxim Machine Gun Rate of Fire – 500 rounds/min                                   Minigun (1962) Rate of Fire – 6,000 round/min

Oh yes please! I wish to end the war! Give me a Maxim machine gun!!!! Pow!

“You kidding me? There’s no way we’d be busy!”

Joses Tirtabudi, on front counter service right before getting slammed for the next hour.

Famous last words.

Leave a Reply

