Sunbeam

SONY DSC

Once a jungle, trimmed to a garden.
Till came a frost that turned into tundra.
Then the ice buried me six feet under.

Frozen dreams of an era of sunshine,
Living in a land of hindsight
After going on a fatal rock-climb.
 –
Winter whitelands are nice in picture frames,
But the reality is the cold wrecks and maims.
A fiery love doth the icy wind tame.
 –
In this tomb I lived for so many moons.
Went into a state of suspension, couldn’t move.
Frostbite began to creep in – a treacherous doom.
 –
Then one fateful day, as the gales wailed away.
Through a shifting cloud came a shaft of day.
An alluding whisper that everything would be okay.
 –
Like a ray of early morning sun, dancing back an’ forth.
Tween swaying trees, dabbling here and forth –
Then all of a sudden, you burst out, like July the Fourth.
 –
A warm beam of golden sunlight
Touched down on the ice.
And deep inside, I felt something come alive.
 –
The bleak whiteness which froze the soul melting down.
The bleakness is gradually fading out.
Your ray of light punctures the ground.
 –
Like someone held in suspension awakes,
Rising from an 100 year slumber as dawn breaks –
Feel the icy shackles abate.
 –
After so long living in this depression,
Your warmth suddenly gives way to trepidation
Maybe it’s just an imagination – a hallucination.
 –
But even as the clouds tried to cut you out.
Every time it’s running out,
You put just a bit of fuel in to stave off the doubts.
 –
My blood’s flowing now, I have a new vision.
Walking about, building back up a once strong nation.
Whenever I’m down, I just look to a sunbeam’s incision.
 –
I’ve always wonder where my energy comes from,
Over time I’ve finally discovered it’s when the sun shone.
I’m a solar panel and you keep me turned on.
 –
There are times I’m scared to tell you what you mean,
But I guess I have to tell you some time it seems.
So here we go – you’re my beautiful sunbeam.
Story behind the poem:
Just writing down sweet little nothings for a sweet girl I know. 🙂
Maybe one day I’ll actually show her, but here we go.
Who knows, maybe she’ll read this and work it out.
I guess I wouldn’t be to surprised if she found out.
😉
GZ
forest by Andreas Krappweis
Leave a Reply

