Nothing at All

4833454629_1d8015620e_o

I’m standing here, dressed in my church clothes.
Going down a long dust dirt road-
Hearing them people say
You’re just a better man, that’s okay.
But objection, Judge – hear me out.
Before you leave me here without.
Take off my church clothes, the ties,
The shoes, the button top and the fancy lines.
Here I am, a man like you.
Throw some mud so I look like you too.
I’m here to tell you a newsflash centuries old.
Jesus didn’t come for the righteous and well-off.
He came for the broken wrecks like you and I.
Believe it or not, I was like you once a time.
Jesus came looking for those who were crying.
He wanted to embrace the lepers and dying.
He came to pick up the pieces of your broken heart.
But you’ve gotta do your part.
Stop this moaning about being too dirty.
Jesus came to save the desperate and filthy.
All you have to do is let Him come in and change.
Yeah, that’s a dirty word huh? Change.
Cause if you let Jesus in, nothing’s gonna be the same.
But it’s all on you, do you want to be whole?
Or do you prefer being dirty, hungry, & cold?
Jesus wants your broken pebbles in return for gold.
It’s a story unlike ever has been told.
Jesus didn’t come to save the whole.
He didn’t come for those who could give Him the world.
He came to save those who had nothing at all.

Story behind the poem:

Mark 2:17 When Jesus heard it, he saith unto them, They that are whole have no need of the physician, but they that are sick: I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.

There’s nothing anyone can give Jesus, but He still wants us anyway.

GZ

photo by e-MagineArt.com

Leave a Reply

