Kissed Me

300643442_6b4f935d63_b

I looked into your eyes

Didn’t see the little lies.

As your lips touched my cheek

This was the ending of the week.

I was on top of the world,

You were my special girl –

But I knew it deep inside –

Something wasn’t right.

And so was just the other day.

A fairytale was thrown away.

I don’t know why,

I sense lies.

I told you all my heart.

While I feel like you only told me half.

If you never ever liked me,

If you didn’t think this would suite thee.

Then you never should have kissed me.

Story behind the poem:

Written about a recent break-up, which I sort of understand but don’t. There were some things I just don’t get. If you didn’t mean it, why did you get so carried away?

photo by Katie Tegtmeyer

 

Leave a Reply

