I AM RELIGIOUS

*Religion – the recognition of a higher power on whom praise and glory we shower.

I have a confession to make:
There are things I’ve said
That don’t make sense.

Like my being religious.
I say I ain’t but it’s just
People seem to make such a fuss.

So let me set the record straight.
Being called religious is not my piece of cake.
Till my life did a 180 take.

I think religion, I think priest’s frocks –
Candles, incense, and rituals to appease the gods –
Gold and silver images and a hallowed box.

I see religion – it keeps men sane:
Yet it starts wars, kills and maims.
Forever steeped in infamy.

Associated with ritualistic emptiness,
Hypocritical people trying to fill nothingness,
And rules to compound.our miserable existence.

But I find in the Good Book –
There’s all relgion ain’t the same if you look.
No religion, empty religion, and religion that’s good.

In a world so caught up and busy –
Influenced by opinions.of those around me –
I lost sight of the religion that is holy.

Pure religion, undefiled, impacting those around.
Reaching out to set free those bound.
Giving to the helpless in the town.

Pure religion – it’s not made by ceremony and pomp.
It has to start from where your heart pumps-
A purity before the Great God above.

Saved by His blood – I’m sanctified.
Once a dirty sinner, now a saint – I’ve been justified.
Now I’ve gotta make sure He is glorified.

Pure religion, undefiled is this:
Reaching out to those in distress,
Having God and your soul at rest.

I rest my case.
This is what I concluded, Your Justice,
I desire pure religion. I am religious.


Story behind the poem:
I have long wrestled with the question, Are you religious? Usually I’d say no. I’m not religious. I don’t do stuff as a ritual. I do it because I believe.
Today I talked with someone who didn’t believe in religion.
Afterwards I was thinking, what is religion? Then I realised, I am religious. Religion is the WORSHIP OF A DEITY, PARTICULARLY VISIBLE.
In that case, I am very religious.
GZ

James 1:27 Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world.

Leave a Reply

