Childish Things

When I was a child, I spoke what came to mind

Like she’s so fat and I want that now

Like a pigeon looking out a pinhole

The world looks different when you’re small

I though babies were like, dropped by the stork

Always wanted to get out the front door

These thoughts were one track

Me, my, mine, how do I get mine back?

Poor me – cry in my corner – I spilled my milk

Twas a life governed by what I feel

But there comes a time in every person’s life

When they have the choice to move beyond petty strife

Some think it’s something to do with age

But age don’t mean a thing okay?

You can be forty and still carry childish things

Like me and my spilled milk and stork’s wings

Petty quarrels, wasted time, things taken for granted

This is something that’s so understated

So here I am – trying to put away these childish things

It’s so hard, and at times I feel like I can’t win

But I’m going to keep trying

To put away these childish things.

1 Corinthians 13:11

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

Leave a Reply

