My Best Days

Some say I’m young, I think I’m old
Old enough to carry a grievous load
Old enough to carry plenty of regrets
Live each day with things i’d rather forget
All those years of invincibility
Got me in a whole lot of vulnerability
This man is not who he once was
Once whole, now broken, now tossed
Pieces of a heart missing – washed up
Looking at life like a half-empty cup
But somewhere deep inside
I feel that fire flickering, alive
And somehow I know, up ahead
I’ve still got my best days yet

Life is just a paradox, catch twenty-two
Caught in the middle is you
Must demolish to build, die to live,
Throw out to keep, Lose to win
Experience the tears, sweat, and pain
To have the triumph, victory, and gain
He who dares, will often fail
But tis will be the day he prevails
Every time I go down in the pit
I will emerge reborn from it
Fight harder, run swifter, be stronger
Breath deeper, play bolder, last longer
I was dead, so I buried me
But I will rise like a phonix. See
I’e been through hell and calamity
But my best days are still in front of me

Leave a Reply

